Guide
How Many Hours a Day Is Homeschool? State Rules
Published

Most states set no daily minimum for homeschool hours; 5 states set daily hours, while Alabama and California require them only for private-tutor options. Those five are Colorado, Georgia, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Tennessee.
Many families find one-on-one lessons take less time than a classroom day. Your state’s rules may set daily hours, yearly hours, or a required term, and the legal option you use can affect which rule applies.
Key Takeaways
- Five states set daily hours for homeschool instruction.
- Eight states apply different time rules based on your legal option.
- Twenty-one states do not specify instruction time in state law.
The Short Answer
Most states do not set a daily homeschool schedule; five set daily hours, seven set yearly hours, nine set days, a term, or a general standard, eight vary by legal option, and twenty-one do not specify instruction time in state law.
For questions such as “how many hours do you have to homeschool” and “how many days do you have to homeschool,” check the rule for your state and the legal option you use. Homeschool attendance requirements may set a specific amount of instruction time or leave the schedule to you.
States That Set Daily Hours
Five states set daily instruction hours: Colorado, Georgia, North Dakota, South Carolina, and Tennessee. Alabama and California also set daily hours for private-tutor options.
In Colorado, instruction must average 4 instructional contact hours a day, with at least 172 days a year. Georgia requires at least 4.5 school hours each day for the equivalent of 180 school days a year.
North Dakota requires at least four hours a day for at least 175 days a year. South Carolina’s Option One requires at least 4.5 hours of instruction a day, not counting lunch and recess, and at least 180 days a year.
Tennessee requires at least 4 hours of instruction a day for the same number of days public schools must hold, which the Department of Education gives as 180 days a school year. Alabama’s private-tutor option requires at least three hours a day for 140 days each calendar year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.; California’s credentialed-tutor option requires at least 3 hours a day for 175 days a year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.
States That Set Yearly Hours
Seven states set yearly instruction-hour requirements: Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Pennsylvania, Washington, and Wisconsin.
Missouri requires at least 1,000 hours a year, including at least 600 hours in core subjects or closely related academic courses. At least 400 of those 600 hours must take place at the regular home school location; these hour rules do not apply to students 16 or older.
Montana requires the same minimum yearly hours as public schools: 720 hours for grades 1-3 and 1,080 hours for grades 4-12. For graduating seniors, 1,050 hours can be enough; kindergarten requires 360 half-day or 720 full-day hours.
Nebraska’s department rules and filing guidance require at least 1,032 hours a year for elementary grades (K-8) and 1,080 hours for secondary grades (9-12), prorated for mid-year starts. New York requires the equivalent of 180 days a year: 900 hours for grades 1-6 and 990 hours for grades 7-12.
Pennsylvania requires 180 days, or 900 hours a year at the elementary level and 990 hours at the secondary level. Washington requires an average of 1,000 hours a year for grades 1-12 and at least 450 hours for kindergarten. Wisconsin requires at least 875 hours of instruction each school year.
States That Set Days or a School Term
Nine states set a day count, term, or general attendance standard without setting daily hours: Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, and Vermont.
Indiana requires attendance for as many days as public schools are in session; the Department of Education describes this as 180 days, with the parent choosing the days and daily schedule. Kansas requires a period substantially equivalent to the local public school term. KSDE notes that public schools run at least 186 six-hour days or 1,116 hours a year for grades 1-11.
Louisiana’s state education department says children must be in a school or approved home study program for at least 180 days a year. Maine requires at least 175 days a year, while Maryland requires regular, thorough instruction during the school year for sufficient time to implement the program, with no set number of days or hours.
North Carolina requires a regular schedule of at least nine calendar months a year, apart from reasonable holidays and vacations. Oklahoma requires other means of education for the full term the district’s schools are in session; the state education department recommends 180 days of about six hours.
Rhode Island requires attendance substantially equal to what public schools require; the state education department notes districts must provide at least 1,080 hours a year. Vermont requires the equivalent of at least 175 days of instruction per year.
States Where It Depends on Your Option
Eight states apply different instruction-time rules based on the legal option you use: Alabama, Alaska, California, Iowa, Kentucky, New Mexico, Oregon, and West Virginia.
In Alabama, church-school and private-school options have no instruction-time rule specified in state law; the private-tutor option requires at least three hours a day for 140 days each calendar year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. In Alaska, state law does not specify time for parent-taught home education, while exempt religious or private schools must operate at least 180 days a year.
In California, state law does not specify time for a home-based private school; a credentialed tutor must teach at least 3 hours a day for 175 days a year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. In Iowa, competent private instruction (CPI) by a licensed practitioner requires at least 148 days a year, with at least 37 days each quarter; independent private instruction (IPI) and parent-supervised CPI have no time specified in state law.
In Kentucky, non-certified homeschools have no time specified in state law. Certified private schools must meet the public school term of 1,062 hours over at least 170 days, and the state education department recommends that all homeschools do the same.
In New Mexico, the home school law does not specify time; the department’s form and FAQ point to the public school minimum of 1,140 instructional hours a year, or 550 for half-day kindergarten. In Oregon, state law does not specify time for parent instruction; a private teacher must teach for a period equal to public school.
In West Virginia, state law does not specify time for the notice-of-intent option. The county-approved option requires a term equal to the public school instructional term.
States With No Time Rule
Twenty-one states do not specify instruction time in state law. Some state guidance includes recordkeeping advice or clarifies how public school attendance rules relate to home education.
| State | Instruction-time rule |
|---|---|
| Arizona | Not specified in state law. |
| Arkansas | Not specified in state law. |
| Connecticut | Not specified in state law for home instruction. The state education department suggests keeping a log of the days and hours of instruction. |
| Delaware | Not specified in state law. The department says it requires no minimum number of days. |
| Florida | Not specified in state law. Home education programs do not have to meet school-day requirements. |
| Hawaii | Not specified in state law. The parent’s curriculum record should note the number of hours per week spent on instruction. |
| Idaho | Not specified in state law for private instruction at home. |
| Illinois | Not specified in state law or state board guidance. |
| Massachusetts | Not specified in state law. Public school structured learning time rules do not apply; districts may consider how long and how often instruction takes place. |
| Michigan | Not specified for home education under exemption (f). |
| Minnesota | Not specified in state law. |
| Mississippi | Not specified in state law. |
| Nevada | Not specified in state law. |
| New Hampshire | Not specified in state law. Instruction dates and hours do not have to match the local district calendar. |
| New Jersey | Not specified in state law for instruction elsewhere than at school. Children attending school must attend all the days and hours the public schools are in session (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-26). |
| Ohio | Not specified in state law. |
| South Dakota | Not specified in state law. |
| Texas | Not specified. Neither the attendance statutes nor TEA guidance set days or hours for home schools. |
| Utah | Not specified in state law. Parents control the time, place, and method of instruction. |
| Virginia | Not specified in state law. |
| Wyoming | Not specified in state law. |
Full State-by-State Table
The table gives each state’s instruction-time category and rule. Check the rule for your legal option where the state places homeschool instruction in the option-dependent group.
| State | Category | Instruction-time rule |
|---|---|---|
| Alabama | Depends on the legal option used | Church school and private school: Not specified in state law. Private tutor: at least three hours a day for 140 days each calendar year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. |
| Alaska | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified in state law for parent-taught home education. Exempt religious or private schools must operate at least 180 days a year. |
| Arizona | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Arkansas | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| California | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified for a home-based private school. A credentialed tutor must teach at least 3 hours a day for 175 days a year, between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m. |
| Colorado | Sets daily hours | At least 172 days a year, averaging 4 instructional contact hours a day. |
| Connecticut | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law for home instruction. The state education department suggests keeping a log of the days and hours of instruction. |
| Delaware | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. The department says it requires no minimum number of days. |
| Florida | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. Home education programs do not have to meet school-day requirements. |
| Georgia | Sets daily hours | The equivalent of 180 school days a year, each at least 4.5 school hours. |
| Hawaii | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. The parent's curriculum record should note the number of hours per week spent on instruction. |
| Idaho | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law for private instruction at home. |
| Illinois | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law or state board guidance. |
| Indiana | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | As many days as public schools are in session; the Department of Education describes this as 180 days, with the parent choosing the days and daily schedule. |
| Iowa | Depends on the legal option used | CPI by a licensed practitioner: at least 148 days a year, with at least 37 days each quarter. IPI and parent-supervised CPI: Not specified in state law. |
| Kansas | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | A period of time substantially equivalent to the local public school term. KSDE notes that public schools run at least 186 six-hour days or 1,116 hours a year for grades 1-11. |
| Kentucky | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified in state law for non-certified homeschools. Certified private schools must meet the public school term (1,062 hours over at least 170 days), and the state education department recommends that all homeschools do the same. |
| Louisiana | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | The definition of a school in R.S. 17:236 no longer sets a day count, and the home study law sets no hours. The state education department says children must be in a school or approved home study program for at least 180 days a year. |
| Maine | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | At least 175 days a year. |
| Maryland | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | Regular, thorough instruction during the school year, of sufficient duration to implement the program. No set number of days or hours. |
| Massachusetts | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. Public school structured learning time rules do not apply; districts may consider how long and how often instruction takes place. |
| Michigan | Not specified in state law | Not specified for home education under exemption (f). |
| Minnesota | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Mississippi | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Missouri | Sets yearly hours | At least 1,000 hours a year, with at least 600 hours in the core subjects (or closely related academic courses), and at least 400 of those 600 hours at the regular home school location. The hour rules do not apply to students 16 or older. |
| Montana | Sets yearly hours | The same minimum yearly hours as public schools: 720 hours for grades 1-3 and 1,080 hours for grades 4-12 (1,050 can be enough for graduating seniors; kindergarten 360 half-day or 720 full-day). |
| Nebraska | Sets yearly hours | State statute sets no hours for exempt schools. The department's Rule 13 and filing guidance require at least 1,032 hours a year for elementary grades (K-8) and 1,080 hours for secondary grades (9-12), prorated for mid-year starts. |
| Nevada | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| New Hampshire | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. Instruction dates and hours do not have to match the local district calendar. |
| New Jersey | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law for instruction elsewhere than at school. Children attending school must attend all the days and hours the public schools are in session (N.J.S.A. 18A:38-26). |
| New Mexico | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified in the home school law. The department's form and FAQ point to the public school minimum of 1,140 instructional hours a year (550 for half-day kindergarten). |
| New York | Sets yearly hours | The equivalent of 180 days a year: 900 hours for grades 1-6 and 990 hours for grades 7-12. |
| North Carolina | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | A regular schedule of at least nine calendar months a year, apart from reasonable holidays and vacations. |
| North Dakota | Sets daily hours | At least four hours a day for at least 175 days a year. |
| Ohio | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Oklahoma | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | The law requires other means of education for the full term the district's schools are in session, without setting hours. The state education department recommends 180 days of about six hours. |
| Oregon | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified in state law for parent instruction. A private teacher must teach for a period equal to public school. |
| Pennsylvania | Sets yearly hours | 180 days, or 900 hours a year at the elementary level and 990 hours at the secondary level. |
| Rhode Island | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | Attendance must be substantially equal to what public schools require. The state education department notes districts must provide at least 1,080 hours a year. |
| South Carolina | Sets daily hours | At least 180 days a year. Option One also requires at least 4.5 hours of instruction a day, not counting lunch and recess. |
| South Dakota | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Tennessee | Sets daily hours | At least 4 hours of instruction a day for the same number of days public schools must hold, which the Department of Education gives as 180 days a school year. |
| Texas | Not specified in state law | Not specified. Neither the attendance statutes nor TEA guidance set days or hours for home schools. |
| Utah | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. Parents control the time, place and method of instruction. |
| Vermont | Sets days, a term or a general standard (no daily hours) | The equivalent of at least 175 days of instruction per year. |
| Virginia | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
| Washington | Sets yearly hours | Hours equal to the private school requirement: an average of 1,000 hours a year for grades 1-12 and at least 450 hours for kindergarten. |
| West Virginia | Depends on the legal option used | Not specified in state law for the notice-of-intent option. The county-approved option requires a term equal to the public school instructional term. |
| Wisconsin | Sets yearly hours | At least 875 hours of instruction each school year. |
| Wyoming | Not specified in state law | Not specified in state law. |
Rules come from each state's official sources as recorded on our state guides. Requirements change, so confirm with the official source linked on each state guide before you file.