Your state guide · 2026
South Carolina homeschool laws
Last verified · View official sources

The short answer
South Carolina gives parents three legal ways to homeschool.
Editorial category; see the guide.
Option One: before home instruction starts, through the district's application process. Associations report their numbers by January 30 each year.
See requirements for options and exceptions.
See the full guide for age exceptions.
Regulation level
H · HighView regulation data
| State | Category |
|---|---|
| South Carolina | High |
Your requirements
A practical checklist
“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.
Notice
RequiredOption One: an application to the district board describing the program, the texts and materials, how progress will be evaluated and where teaching happens, plus a signed agreement holding the district harmless. Options Two and Three: membership in a qualifying home school association instead of district approval; the association reports how many children it serves to their districts.
Subjects
RequiredReading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies; Grades 7-12: composition and literature
Hours / days
Not specifiedAt least 180 days a year. Option One also requires at least 4.5 hours of instruction a day, not counting lunch and recess.
Testing / evaluation
Not specifiedOption One students take the annual statewide tests for their grade, given by a certified district employee at school or, at the parent's choice and cost, at home. If an Option One student falls below the public school promotion standard for a year, the board decides on public school placement, special services, or home school with outside support. Options Two and Three: not specified in state law.
Teacher qualifications
Not specifiedThe teaching parent needs at least a high school diploma or GED in every option. Option One allows a diploma or GED (the law also mentions passing a state basic skills exam) or a bachelor's degree.
Records / portfolio
Not specifiedOption One and Option Three families keep a plan book or diary of subjects and activities, a portfolio of work samples, and records of progress. Both include a semiannual progress report with attendance and an assessment in each core subject; under Option One it goes to the district, which can also inspect records on reasonable notice. Option Two follows the association's standards.
Immunizations
Not specifiedNot specified in state law
At a glance
- Three legal options: district approval or one of two association routes
- Parent needs at least a high school diploma or GED
- 180 days a year in all options
- State testing only for district-approved (Option One) students
- Home school students can join interscholastic activities
Requirements at a glance
Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.
Open the full requirements table
| Requirement | What to know |
|---|---|
| Compulsory school ages | 5–17 |
| Notice required | Yes |
| Filing deadline | Option One: before home instruction starts, through the district's application process. Associations report their numbers by January 30 each year. |
| Required subjects | Reading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies; Grades 7-12: composition and literature |
| Instruction time | At least 180 days a year. Option One also requires at least 4.5 hours of instruction a day, not counting lunch and recess. |
| Parent qualifications | The teaching parent needs at least a high school diploma or GED in every option. Option One allows a diploma or GED (the law also mentions passing a state basic skills exam) or a bachelor's degree. |
| Tests & assessments | Option One students take the annual statewide tests for their grade, given by a certified district employee at school or, at the parent's choice and cost, at home. If an Option One student falls below the public school promotion standard for a year, the board decides on public school placement, special services, or home school with outside support. Options Two and Three: not specified in state law. |
| Records to keep | Option One and Option Three families keep a plan book or diary of subjects and activities, a portfolio of work samples, and records of progress. Both include a semiannual progress report with attendance and an assessment in each core subject; under Option One it goes to the district, which can also inspect records on reasonable notice. Option Two follows the association's standards. |
| Immunizations | Not specified in state law |
How to start homeschooling in South Carolina
Option One needs approval from the local school board and includes state testing, records the district can inspect and twice-yearly progress reports. Options Two and Three work through a home school association, either the South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools or an association with at least 50 members, which sets the standards instead of the district. All options require a parent with at least a high school diploma or GED, 180 days of instruction and the core subjects.
Choose your homeschooling option
Option One: district-approved home school. The local school board approves the program under section 59-65-40. This route carries the most requirements, including state tests given by a district employee and semiannual progress reports to the district.
Option Two: South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools. Teaching under this association, and following its standards, exempts the family from the district approval rules under section 59-65-45.
Option Three: home school association with 50 or more members. Membership in an association that meets the standards in section 59-65-47 replaces district approval. The state education department posts a yearly list of associations that filed its standards form.
Prepare your notice
Option One: an application to the district board describing the program, the texts and materials, how progress will be evaluated and where teaching happens, plus a signed agreement holding the district harmless. Options Two and Three: membership in a qualifying home school association instead of district approval; the association reports how many children it serves to their districts.
Check when and where to file
When: Option One: before home instruction starts, through the district's application process. Associations report their numbers by January 30 each year.
Where: Option One: the board of trustees of the school district where the child lives. Options Two and Three: the chosen home school association.
View steps as a table
| Step | Details |
|---|---|
| 1. Choose your homeschooling option | Option One: district-approved home school. The local school board approves the program under section 59-65-40. This route carries the most requirements, including state tests given by a district employee and semiannual progress reports to the district. Option Two: South Carolina Association of Independent Home Schools. Teaching under this association, and following its standards, exempts the family from the district approval rules under section 59-65-45. Option Three: home school association with 50 or more members. Membership in an association that meets the standards in section 59-65-47 replaces district approval. The state education department posts a yearly list of associations that filed its standards form. |
| 2. Prepare your notice | Option One: an application to the district board describing the program, the texts and materials, how progress will be evaluated and where teaching happens, plus a signed agreement holding the district harmless. Options Two and Three: membership in a qualifying home school association instead of district approval; the association reports how many children it serves to their districts. |
| 3. Check when and where to file | Option One: before home instruction starts, through the district's application process. Associations report their numbers by January 30 each year. Option One: the board of trustees of the school district where the child lives. Options Two and Three: the chosen home school association. |
Subjects to teach
- Reading, writing, mathematics, science and social studies
- Grades 7-12: composition and literature
Sports & extracurricular activities
Under the Equal Access to Interscholastic Activities law, a district cannot bar a home school student who has been homeschooled for a full academic year from interscholastic activities at the school zoned for the student's home, if the student meets eligibility rules (other than attendance and enrollment rules) and notifies the superintendent in writing before the season starts.
Official forms & law
South Carolina Department of Education ↗
Forms & guidance
- 2026-27 Home School Option 2 list ↗
- 2026-27 Home School Option 3 associations list ↗
- Frequently Asked Home School Questions (PDF) ↗
Statutes
Questions, answered.
What do I file to homeschool in South Carolina?
Option One: an application to the district board describing the program, the texts and materials, how progress will be evaluated and where teaching happens, plus a signed agreement holding the district harmless. Options Two and Three: membership in a qualifying home school association instead of district approval; the association reports how many children it serves to their districts.
When do I file in South Carolina?
Option One: before home instruction starts, through the district's application process. Associations report their numbers by January 30 each year.
What assessments are required in South Carolina?
Option One students take the annual statewide tests for their grade, given by a certified district employee at school or, at the parent's choice and cost, at home. If an Option One student falls below the public school promotion standard for a year, the board decides on public school placement, special services, or home school with outside support. Options Two and Three: not specified in state law.
Check the original
Sources and last checked
- South Carolina Code, Title 59, Chapter 65 (Compulsory School Attendance and home schooling) ↗South Carolina Legislature
- South Carolina Code, Title 59, Chapter 63 (section 59-63-100) ↗South Carolina Legislature
- Home Schooling ↗South Carolina Department of Education
- Frequently Asked Home School Questions ↗South Carolina Department of Education
Last verified .