Your state guide · 2026
Colorado homeschool laws
Last verified · View official sources

The short answer
Colorado parents can run a nonpublic home-based education program by sending written notice to any Colorado school district 14 days before starting and again each year.
Editorial category; see the guide.
14 days before the program starts, then every year it continues. Notice is not required before the child turns 6 or after the child turns 16.
See requirements for options and exceptions.
See the full guide for age exceptions.
Regulation level
M · ModerateView regulation data
| State | Category |
|---|---|
| Colorado | Moderate |
Your requirements
A practical checklist
“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.
Notice
RequiredA written notice that the program is being set up, with a signed statement giving each child's name, age, place of residence and hours of attendance. A child who was habitually truant in the six months before must also include a written description of the curriculum.
Subjects
RequiredReading, writing and speaking; Mathematics; History; Civics; Literature; Science; The U.S. Constitution
Hours / days
Not specifiedAt least 172 days a year, averaging 4 instructional contact hours a day.
Testing / evaluation
RequiredIn grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 the child either takes a nationally standardized achievement test or is evaluated by a qualified person (a licensed teacher, a teacher at an independent or parochial school, a licensed psychologist, or someone with a graduate degree in education). Results go to the district that got the notice or to an independent or parochial school. A composite score at or below the 13th percentile, after a chance to retest, or an evaluation showing too little progress means the child must enroll in a public, independent or parochial school until the next testing period.
Teacher qualifications
Not specifiedNone. The teaching parent or designated adult relative is exempt from Colorado teacher licensing rules.
Records / portfolio
RequiredParents keep permanent records for each child, including attendance, test and evaluation results, and immunization records. The district can demand them on 14 days' written notice only if the superintendent has probable cause to think the program is out of compliance.
Immunizations
RequiredImmunization records must be kept as part of the child's home school records under the state immunization law; they are not filed with the notice.
At a glance
- Notice to any Colorado district 14 days before starting, then yearly
- No teaching license needed
- 172 days a year, about 4 hours a day
- Test or evaluation in grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11
- Home school students can join public school activities
Requirements at a glance
Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.
Open the full requirements table
| Requirement | What to know |
|---|---|
| Compulsory school ages | 6–17 |
| Notice required | Yes |
| Filing deadline | 14 days before the program starts, then every year it continues. Notice is not required before the child turns 6 or after the child turns 16. |
| Required subjects | Reading, writing and speaking; Mathematics; History; Civics; Literature; Science; The U.S. Constitution |
| Instruction time | At least 172 days a year, averaging 4 instructional contact hours a day. |
| Parent qualifications | None. The teaching parent or designated adult relative is exempt from Colorado teacher licensing rules. |
| Tests & assessments | In grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 the child either takes a nationally standardized achievement test or is evaluated by a qualified person (a licensed teacher, a teacher at an independent or parochial school, a licensed psychologist, or someone with a graduate degree in education). Results go to the district that got the notice or to an independent or parochial school. A composite score at or below the 13th percentile, after a chance to retest, or an evaluation showing too little progress means the child must enroll in a public, independent or parochial school until the next testing period. |
| Records to keep | Parents keep permanent records for each child, including attendance, test and evaluation results, and immunization records. The district can demand them on 14 days' written notice only if the superintendent has probable cause to think the program is out of compliance. |
| Immunizations | Immunization records must be kept as part of the child's home school records under the state immunization law; they are not filed with the notice. |
How to start homeschooling in Colorado
The program must run at least 172 days a year, averaging four hours a day, and cover a set list of core subjects. Children are tested or evaluated in grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11, and results go to the district or to an independent or parochial school. Parents do not need a teaching license.
Choose your homeschooling option
Nonpublic home-based educational program. A parent, or an adult relative the parent chooses, teaches the child at home under section 22-33-104.5 after filing the yearly notice with a school district.
Independent or parochial school. A child enrolled for at least 172 days in an independent or parochial school that provides a basic academic education is exempt from public school attendance under section 22-33-104(2)(b).
Prepare your notice
A written notice that the program is being set up, with a signed statement giving each child's name, age, place of residence and hours of attendance. A child who was habitually truant in the six months before must also include a written description of the curriculum.
Open the official notice resource ↗Check when and where to file
When: 14 days before the program starts, then every year it continues. Notice is not required before the child turns 6 or after the child turns 16.
Where: Any school district in Colorado. The state education department suggests also telling the district where you live if you file elsewhere.
View steps as a table
| Step | Details |
|---|---|
| 1. Choose your homeschooling option | Nonpublic home-based educational program. A parent, or an adult relative the parent chooses, teaches the child at home under section 22-33-104.5 after filing the yearly notice with a school district. Independent or parochial school. A child enrolled for at least 172 days in an independent or parochial school that provides a basic academic education is exempt from public school attendance under section 22-33-104(2)(b). |
| 2. Prepare your notice | A written notice that the program is being set up, with a signed statement giving each child's name, age, place of residence and hours of attendance. A child who was habitually truant in the six months before must also include a written description of the curriculum. |
| 3. Check when and where to file | 14 days before the program starts, then every year it continues. Notice is not required before the child turns 6 or after the child turns 16. Any school district in Colorado. The state education department suggests also telling the district where you live if you file elsewhere. |
Subjects to teach
- Reading, writing and speaking
- Mathematics
- History
- Civics
- Literature
- Science
- The U.S. Constitution
Sports & extracurricular activities
Home-based students have the same right as enrolled students to join extracurricular and interscholastic activities at a public school, and generally cannot be made to take a course to be eligible unless the activity extends a course, such as a performing arts group.
Official forms & law
Colorado Department of Education ↗
Forms & guidance
Statutes
Questions, answered.
What do I file to homeschool in Colorado?
A written notice that the program is being set up, with a signed statement giving each child's name, age, place of residence and hours of attendance. A child who was habitually truant in the six months before must also include a written description of the curriculum.
When do I file in Colorado?
14 days before the program starts, then every year it continues. Notice is not required before the child turns 6 or after the child turns 16.
What assessments are required in Colorado?
In grades 3, 5, 7, 9 and 11 the child either takes a nationally standardized achievement test or is evaluated by a qualified person (a licensed teacher, a teacher at an independent or parochial school, a licensed psychologist, or someone with a graduate degree in education). Results go to the district that got the notice or to an independent or parochial school. A composite score at or below the 13th percentile, after a chance to retest, or an evaluation showing too little progress means the child must enroll in a public, independent or parochial school until the next testing period.
Check the original
Sources and last checked
- Colorado Revised Statutes 2024, Title 22 (sections 22-33-104 and 22-33-104.5) ↗Colorado General Assembly, Office of Legislative Legal Services
- Homeschool Law 22-33-104.5 (reprint) ↗Colorado Department of Education
- Homeschool For Families ↗Colorado Department of Education
- FAQ: Homeschool Families ↗Colorado Department of Education
Last verified .