Your state guide · 2026
South Dakota homeschool laws
Last verified · View official sources

The short answer
South Dakota calls homeschooling alternative instruction, and parents start by filing a one-time notification with the state Department of Education or the local district within 30 days of beginning.
Editorial category; see the guide.
Within 30 days of first starting alternative instruction. Not needed again unless the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different district, then within 30 days of that change.
See requirements for options and exceptions.
See the full guide for age exceptions.
Regulation level
L · LowView regulation data
| State | Category |
|---|---|
| South Dakota | Low |
Your requirements
A practical checklist
“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.
Notice
RequiredA standard state form with the child's name, birth date, resident district (and open-enrolled district if any), the parent's signature and return information. The notification is kept confidential.
Subjects
RequiredLanguage arts; Mathematics
Hours / days
Not specifiedNot specified in state law
Testing / evaluation
Not specifiedNot specified in state law. The state education department says testing and reporting results has not been required since 2021; families may test at their own expense.
Teacher qualifications
Not specifiedThe instructor does not need to be certified. No one may instruct more than 22 children.
Records / portfolio
Not specifiedNot specified in state law, except that a parent-issued transcript of the previous semester is required before joining school activities.
Immunizations
Not specifiedNot specified in state law
At a glance
- One-time notice within 30 days of starting
- Refile only after school enrollment or a move
- Language arts and math required
- No testing or teacher certification
- Can join resident district activities
Requirements at a glance
Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.
Open the full requirements table
| Requirement | What to know |
|---|---|
| Compulsory school ages | 6–18 |
| Notice required | Yes |
| Filing deadline | Within 30 days of first starting alternative instruction. Not needed again unless the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different district, then within 30 days of that change. |
| Required subjects | Language arts; Mathematics |
| Instruction time | Not specified in state law |
| Parent qualifications | The instructor does not need to be certified. No one may instruct more than 22 children. |
| Tests & assessments | Not specified in state law. The state education department says testing and reporting results has not been required since 2021; families may test at their own expense. |
| Records to keep | Not specified in state law, except that a parent-issued transcript of the previous semester is required before joining school activities. |
| Immunizations | Not specified in state law |
How to start homeschooling in South Dakota
A new notification is needed only if the child enrolls in a school or moves to another district. The law requires instruction in language arts and math aimed at mastery of English, sets no testing or teacher certification rules, and limits one instructor to 22 children.
Choose your homeschooling option
Alternative instruction. Home school or other nonaccredited instruction in language arts and math, started by filing the notification under section 13-27-3.
Prepare your notice
A standard state form with the child's name, birth date, resident district (and open-enrolled district if any), the parent's signature and return information. The notification is kept confidential.
Open the official notice resource ↗Check when and where to file
When: Within 30 days of first starting alternative instruction. Not needed again unless the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different district, then within 30 days of that change.
Where: The South Dakota Department of Education or the local school district (the online system notifies both).
View steps as a table
| Step | Details |
|---|---|
| 1. Choose your homeschooling option | Alternative instruction. Home school or other nonaccredited instruction in language arts and math, started by filing the notification under section 13-27-3. |
| 2. Prepare your notice | A standard state form with the child's name, birth date, resident district (and open-enrolled district if any), the parent's signature and return information. The notification is kept confidential. |
| 3. Check when and where to file | Within 30 days of first starting alternative instruction. Not needed again unless the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different district, then within 30 days of that change. The South Dakota Department of Education or the local school district (the online system notifies both). |
Subjects to teach
- Language arts
- Mathematics
Sports & extracurricular activities
Public school districts must let alternative instruction children join athletics, fine arts and other activities in their resident district. Families give proof of age and a parent-issued transcript of the prior semester before each season, and the child follows the same training and state activities association rules as enrolled students.
Official forms & law
South Dakota Department of Education ↗
Forms & guidance
- Online Alternative Instruction Notification system ↗
- Alternative Instruction Notification form (PDF) ↗
- South Dakota Alternative Instruction FAQ (PDF) ↗
Statutes
Questions, answered.
What do I file to homeschool in South Dakota?
A standard state form with the child's name, birth date, resident district (and open-enrolled district if any), the parent's signature and return information. The notification is kept confidential.
When do I file in South Dakota?
Within 30 days of first starting alternative instruction. Not needed again unless the child enrolls in a public or nonpublic school or moves to a different district, then within 30 days of that change.
What assessments are required in South Dakota?
Not specified in state law. The state education department says testing and reporting results has not been required since 2021; families may test at their own expense.
Check the original
Sources and last checked
- SDCL 13-27-3 ↗South Dakota Legislature
- SDCL 13-27-7 ↗South Dakota Legislature
- SDCL 13-27-1 ↗South Dakota Legislature
- SDCL 13-36-7 ↗South Dakota Legislature
- Home Schooling ↗South Dakota Department of Education
- South Dakota Alternative Instruction FAQ ↗South Dakota Department of Education
Last verified .