Your state guide · 2026
West Virginia homeschool laws
Last verified · View official sources

The short answer
West Virginia families most often homeschool by filing a one-time notice of intent with the county superintendent or county board before instruction begins.
Editorial category; see the guide.
Once, before home instruction begins (on or before the start date if the child is leaving public school). File a new notice after moving to another county, and tell the superintendent when home instruction ends.
See requirements for options and exceptions.
See the full guide for age exceptions.
Regulation level
H · HighView regulation data
| State | Category |
|---|---|
| West Virginia | High |
Your requirements
A practical checklist
“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.
Notice
RequiredA notice of intent with the name, address and age of each child of compulsory school age and an assurance that the child will be taught reading, language, mathematics, science and social studies and assessed every year, plus evidence of the instructor's high school diploma or equivalent.
Subjects
RequiredReading; Language; Mathematics; Science; Social studies
Hours / days
Not specifiedNot specified in state law for the notice-of-intent option. The county-approved option requires a term equal to the public school instructional term.
Testing / evaluation
RequiredEach year the child is assessed for the prior school year by one of: a nationally normed achievement test (normed within 10 years) in the five subjects, the public school testing program at a county school, a portfolio review by a certified teacher with a written narrative, or another method agreed with the county superintendent. Acceptable progress on a test is a mean score in or above the fourth stanine, or improvement from the year before. If progress is not acceptable the parent starts a remedial program, and after a second year must give the superintendent more evidence of proper instruction. Results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 11 are due to the superintendent by June 30.
Teacher qualifications
RequiredThe instructor must show a high school diploma or equivalent, or a post-secondary degree or certificate from a regionally accredited or state-authorized institution.
Records / portfolio
RequiredKeep a copy of each annual academic assessment for three years.
Immunizations
Not specifiedNot specified in state law
At a glance
- One-time notice to county superintendent
- Instructor needs a high school diploma
- Annual assessment, four ways to do it
- Report results in grades 3, 5, 8 and 11
- Keep assessments for three years
- Can play sports at zoned public school
Requirements at a glance
Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.
Open the full requirements table
| Requirement | What to know |
|---|---|
| Compulsory school ages | 6–17 |
| Notice required | Yes |
| Filing deadline | Once, before home instruction begins (on or before the start date if the child is leaving public school). File a new notice after moving to another county, and tell the superintendent when home instruction ends. |
| Required subjects | Reading; Language; Mathematics; Science; Social studies |
| Instruction time | Not specified in state law for the notice-of-intent option. The county-approved option requires a term equal to the public school instructional term. |
| Parent qualifications | The instructor must show a high school diploma or equivalent, or a post-secondary degree or certificate from a regionally accredited or state-authorized institution. |
| Tests & assessments | Each year the child is assessed for the prior school year by one of: a nationally normed achievement test (normed within 10 years) in the five subjects, the public school testing program at a county school, a portfolio review by a certified teacher with a written narrative, or another method agreed with the county superintendent. Acceptable progress on a test is a mean score in or above the fourth stanine, or improvement from the year before. If progress is not acceptable the parent starts a remedial program, and after a second year must give the superintendent more evidence of proper instruction. Results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 11 are due to the superintendent by June 30. |
| Records to keep | Keep a copy of each annual academic assessment for three years. |
| Immunizations | Not specified in state law |
How to start homeschooling in West Virginia
The instructor needs at least a high school diploma or equivalent, and the child must be assessed every year by a standardized test, the state testing program, a certified teacher's portfolio review or another method the superintendent agrees to. Results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 11 go to the superintendent by June 30, and parents keep each assessment for three years.
Choose your homeschooling option
Home instruction by notice of intent. The common path under § 18-8-1(c)(2): file the notice, meet the instructor qualification and complete the annual assessment.
Home instruction approved by the county board. Under § 18-8-1(c)(1), instruction at home or another approved place for a term equal to the public school year, by an instructor the county superintendent and board judge qualified.
Learning pod or microschool. A group of families or a tuition-charging microschool. It files the same notice of intent and follows the same instructor and assessment rules, and may report school composite results.
Prepare your notice
A notice of intent with the name, address and age of each child of compulsory school age and an assurance that the child will be taught reading, language, mathematics, science and social studies and assessed every year, plus evidence of the instructor's high school diploma or equivalent.
Open the official notice resource ↗Check when and where to file
When: Once, before home instruction begins (on or before the start date if the child is leaving public school). File a new notice after moving to another county, and tell the superintendent when home instruction ends.
Where: County superintendent or county board of education.
View steps as a table
| Step | Details |
|---|---|
| 1. Choose your homeschooling option | Home instruction by notice of intent. The common path under § 18-8-1(c)(2): file the notice, meet the instructor qualification and complete the annual assessment. Home instruction approved by the county board. Under § 18-8-1(c)(1), instruction at home or another approved place for a term equal to the public school year, by an instructor the county superintendent and board judge qualified. Learning pod or microschool. A group of families or a tuition-charging microschool. It files the same notice of intent and follows the same instructor and assessment rules, and may report school composite results. |
| 2. Prepare your notice | A notice of intent with the name, address and age of each child of compulsory school age and an assurance that the child will be taught reading, language, mathematics, science and social studies and assessed every year, plus evidence of the instructor's high school diploma or equivalent. |
| 3. Check when and where to file | Once, before home instruction begins (on or before the start date if the child is leaving public school). File a new notice after moving to another county, and tell the superintendent when home instruction ends. County superintendent or county board of education. |
Subjects to teach
- Reading
- Language
- Mathematics
- Science
- Social studies
Sports & extracurricular activities
Home-instructed students may join interscholastic athletics and other extracurricular activities at the public secondary school serving their attendance zone if they show satisfactory yearly progress (average test results at or above the fourth stanine in all subjects), are under 19 on August 1, are amateurs, and follow the same conduct, physical exam and vaccination rules as other athletes. Reasonable fees may be charged.
Official forms & law
West Virginia Department of Education ↗
Forms & guidance
Statutes
Questions, answered.
What do I file to homeschool in West Virginia?
A notice of intent with the name, address and age of each child of compulsory school age and an assurance that the child will be taught reading, language, mathematics, science and social studies and assessed every year, plus evidence of the instructor's high school diploma or equivalent.
When do I file in West Virginia?
Once, before home instruction begins (on or before the start date if the child is leaving public school). File a new notice after moving to another county, and tell the superintendent when home instruction ends.
What assessments are required in West Virginia?
Each year the child is assessed for the prior school year by one of: a nationally normed achievement test (normed within 10 years) in the five subjects, the public school testing program at a county school, a portfolio review by a certified teacher with a written narrative, or another method agreed with the county superintendent. Acceptable progress on a test is a mean score in or above the fourth stanine, or improvement from the year before. If progress is not acceptable the parent starts a remedial program, and after a second year must give the superintendent more evidence of proper instruction. Results for grades 3, 5, 8 and 11 are due to the superintendent by June 30.
Check the original
Sources and last checked
- West Virginia Code § 18-8-1 ↗West Virginia Legislature
- West Virginia Code § 18-8-1a ↗West Virginia Legislature
- West Virginia Code § 18-2-25 ↗West Virginia Legislature
- Homeschool State Code ↗West Virginia Department of Education
Last verified .