Your state guide · 2026
Maine homeschool laws
Last verified · View official sources

The short answer
Maine parents start home instruction by filing a notice of intent within 10 calendar days of beginning.
Editorial category; see the guide.
Within 10 calendar days after home instruction begins (the DOE says by September 1 if starting in the fall), then each year by September 1.
See requirements for options and exceptions.
See the full guide for age exceptions.
Regulation level
M · ModerateView regulation data
| State | Category |
|---|---|
| Maine | Moderate |
Your requirements
A practical checklist
“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.
Notice
RequiredA signed notice with the parent's name and address, the child's name and age, the start date, and promises of 175 days of instruction, the required subjects and an annual assessment. Later years add a letter of intent to continue with a copy of the prior year's assessment.
Subjects
RequiredEnglish and language arts; Mathematics; Science; Social studies; Physical education; Health education; Library skills; Fine arts; Maine studies (in at least one grade from 6 to 12); Computer proficiency (in at least one grade from 7 to 12)
Hours / days
Not specifiedAt least 175 days a year.
Testing / evaluation
RequiredEach year the family submits one of: a standardized achievement test given through the school unit or another approved arrangement; a test made by local school officials (agreed before the first notice); a progress review by a Maine-certified teacher; a portfolio review by a local homeschool support group that includes a Maine-certified teacher or administrator; or a review by a local advisory board picked by the superintendent (agreed before the first notice). The DOE says no assessment is due with a first-year notice.
Teacher qualifications
Not specifiedNot specified in state law for the parent. Certification applies only to some assessment reviewers.
Records / portfolio
Not specifiedNot specified in state law
Immunizations
Not specifiedNot specified in state law for home instruction. Students joining school extracurricular activities must meet the same immunization rules as enrolled students.
At a glance
- Notice within 10 days of starting
- 175 days of instruction a year
- Renew by September 1 with an assessment
- Five ways to meet the yearly assessment
- Can join school activities and classes
Requirements at a glance
Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.
Open the full requirements table
| Requirement | What to know |
|---|---|
| Compulsory school ages | 6–17 |
| Notice required | Yes |
| Filing deadline | Within 10 calendar days after home instruction begins (the DOE says by September 1 if starting in the fall), then each year by September 1. |
| Required subjects | English and language arts; Mathematics; Science; Social studies; Physical education; Health education; Library skills; Fine arts; Maine studies (in at least one grade from 6 to 12); Computer proficiency (in at least one grade from 7 to 12) |
| Instruction time | At least 175 days a year. |
| Parent qualifications | Not specified in state law for the parent. Certification applies only to some assessment reviewers. |
| Tests & assessments | Each year the family submits one of: a standardized achievement test given through the school unit or another approved arrangement; a test made by local school officials (agreed before the first notice); a progress review by a Maine-certified teacher; a portfolio review by a local homeschool support group that includes a Maine-certified teacher or administrator; or a review by a local advisory board picked by the superintendent (agreed before the first notice). The DOE says no assessment is due with a first-year notice. |
| Records to keep | Not specified in state law |
| Immunizations | Not specified in state law for home instruction. Students joining school extracurricular activities must meet the same immunization rules as enrolled students. |
How to start homeschooling in Maine
The notice promises 175 days of instruction a year in a set list of subjects and an annual assessment. Each year by September 1 the family files a new notice with a copy of one assessment, chosen from five options such as a standardized test or review by a Maine-certified teacher.
Choose your homeschooling option
Home instruction. Parent-provided equivalent instruction under 20-A M.R.S. § 5001-A(3)(A)(4), started by filing a notice of intent with local school officials and the commissioner.
Prepare your notice
A signed notice with the parent's name and address, the child's name and age, the start date, and promises of 175 days of instruction, the required subjects and an annual assessment. Later years add a letter of intent to continue with a copy of the prior year's assessment.
Open the official notice resource ↗Check when and where to file
When: Within 10 calendar days after home instruction begins (the DOE says by September 1 if starting in the fall), then each year by September 1.
Where: Local school officials of the child's administrative unit and the Commissioner of Education. The DOE says one filing through its portal, or a paper form sent to the resident superintendent, covers both.
View steps as a table
| Step | Details |
|---|---|
| 1. Choose your homeschooling option | Home instruction. Parent-provided equivalent instruction under 20-A M.R.S. § 5001-A(3)(A)(4), started by filing a notice of intent with local school officials and the commissioner. |
| 2. Prepare your notice | A signed notice with the parent's name and address, the child's name and age, the start date, and promises of 175 days of instruction, the required subjects and an annual assessment. Later years add a letter of intent to continue with a copy of the prior year's assessment. |
| 3. Check when and where to file | Within 10 calendar days after home instruction begins (the DOE says by September 1 if starting in the fall), then each year by September 1. Local school officials of the child's administrative unit and the Commissioner of Education. The DOE says one filing through its portal, or a paper form sent to the resident superintendent, covers both. |
Subjects to teach
- English and language arts
- Mathematics
- Science
- Social studies
- Physical education
- Health education
- Library skills
- Fine arts
- Maine studies (in at least one grade from 6 to 12)
- Computer proficiency (in at least one grade from 7 to 12)
Sports & extracurricular activities
Home instruction students may try out for school extracurricular activities after a written application, if they meet the same participation, physical exam, immunization, insurance, age, academic and eligibility rules as enrolled students. They may also take regular classes, cocurricular activities and use facilities with school approval, which may not be unreasonably withheld.
Official forms & law
Maine Department of Education ↗
Forms & guidance
- Home Instruction Portal (online notice) ↗
- Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction (PDF) ↗
- Home Instruction FAQ ↗
Statutes
Questions, answered.
What do I file to homeschool in Maine?
A signed notice with the parent's name and address, the child's name and age, the start date, and promises of 175 days of instruction, the required subjects and an annual assessment. Later years add a letter of intent to continue with a copy of the prior year's assessment.
When do I file in Maine?
Within 10 calendar days after home instruction begins (the DOE says by September 1 if starting in the fall), then each year by September 1.
What assessments are required in Maine?
Each year the family submits one of: a standardized achievement test given through the school unit or another approved arrangement; a test made by local school officials (agreed before the first notice); a progress review by a Maine-certified teacher; a portfolio review by a local homeschool support group that includes a Maine-certified teacher or administrator; or a review by a local advisory board picked by the superintendent (agreed before the first notice). The DOE says no assessment is due with a first-year notice.
Check the original
Sources and last checked
- 20-A M.R.S. § 5001-A, Exceptions to attendance ↗Maine Legislature
- 20-A M.R.S. § 5021, Standards for participation in public schools ↗Maine Legislature
- Home Instruction Requirements, Forms & Laws ↗Maine Department of Education
Last verified .