Your state guide · 2026

Utah homeschool laws

Last verified · View official sources

An illustrated mountain west landscape with a cottage and an open book.

The short answer

Utah parents start homeschooling by giving their local school board a one-time notice, and the district must acknowledge it within 30 days.

Regulation levelLow

Editorial category; see the guide.

Notice requiredYes

When the parent withdraws an enrolled child to homeschool, or chooses not to enroll a school-age child. Only once per child; not yearly.

Testing / evaluationNo

See requirements for options and exceptions.

Compulsory ages6–18

See the full guide for age exceptions.

Regulation level

L · Low
None—
Low▲ This state
Moderate—
High—
The category supplied with this guide, not a score or a legal classification. Requirements depend on your homeschooling option.
View regulation data
Utah regulation category
StateCategory
UtahLow

Your requirements

A practical checklist

“Not specified” means a single yes/no requirement is not explicit in the supplied information. Read each detail for options and exceptions.

  • Notice

    Required

    A one-time initial notification, which may be a letter of intent. Since 2025 the law no longer requires an affidavit for children starting at the beginning of a school year or a statement about criminal background.

  • Subjects

    Required

    Not specified in state law. Parents choose the instructional materials, and on request the district must tell them the recommended skills by grade and subject.

  • Hours / days

    Not specified

    Not specified in state law. Parents control the time, place and method of instruction.

  • Testing / evaluation

    Not required

    None required. Parents are responsible for evaluating instruction, and school boards may not require standardized or other testing.

  • Teacher qualifications

    Not specified

    None. School boards may not require credentials for anyone teaching a home school.

  • Records / portfolio

    Not required

    None required. School boards may not require parents to keep records of instruction or attendance.

  • Immunizations

    Not specified

    Not specified in state law

At a glance

  • One-time notice to the local school board
  • District must acknowledge within 30 days
  • No required subjects, days or hours
  • No testing or teacher credentials can be required
  • Home school students can join public school activities

Requirements at a glance

Read the details for your chosen homeschooling option below.

Open the full requirements table
Utah homeschool requirements
RequirementWhat to know
Compulsory school ages6–18
Notice requiredYes
Filing deadlineWhen the parent withdraws an enrolled child to homeschool, or chooses not to enroll a school-age child. Only once per child; not yearly.
Required subjectsNot specified in state law. Parents choose the instructional materials, and on request the district must tell them the recommended skills by grade and subject.
Instruction timeNot specified in state law. Parents control the time, place and method of instruction.
Parent qualificationsNone. School boards may not require credentials for anyone teaching a home school.
Tests & assessmentsNone required. Parents are responsible for evaluating instruction, and school boards may not require standardized or other testing.
Records to keepNone required. School boards may not require parents to keep records of instruction or attendance.
ImmunizationsNot specified in state law

How to start homeschooling in Utah

Parents alone choose the materials, schedule, teaching method and evaluation. School boards may not require attendance or instruction records, teacher credentials, home inspections or testing. Families who already notified the district on or before May 7, 2025 do not have to notify again.

  1. Choose your homeschooling option

    Home school. A parent or legal guardian teaches the child at home, alone or with other homeschooling families, after the one-time notice to the district under section 53G-6-204.

  2. Prepare your notice

    A one-time initial notification, which may be a letter of intent. Since 2025 the law no longer requires an affidavit for children starting at the beginning of a school year or a statement about criminal background.

  3. Check when and where to file

    When: When the parent withdraws an enrolled child to homeschool, or chooses not to enroll a school-age child. Only once per child; not yearly.

    Where: The local school board of the child's district of residence.

Getting-started steps from the published Utah guide. Follow the official links for your chosen option.
View steps as a table
How to start homeschooling in Utah
StepDetails
1. Choose your homeschooling optionHome school. A parent or legal guardian teaches the child at home, alone or with other homeschooling families, after the one-time notice to the district under section 53G-6-204.
2. Prepare your noticeA one-time initial notification, which may be a letter of intent. Since 2025 the law no longer requires an affidavit for children starting at the beginning of a school year or a statement about criminal background.
3. Check when and where to fileWhen the parent withdraws an enrolled child to homeschool, or chooses not to enroll a school-age child. Only once per child; not yearly. The local school board of the child's district of residence.

Subjects to teach

  • Not specified in state law. Parents choose the instructional materials, and on request the district must tell them the recommended skills by grade and subject.

Sports & extracurricular activities

Home school students may join extracurricular activities at a public school, usually the school whose boundaries they live in or the one they withdrew from, if they meet the eligibility rules in section 53G-6-703.

Official forms & law

Utah State Board of Education ↗

Statutes

Questions, answered.

What do I file to homeschool in Utah?

A one-time initial notification, which may be a letter of intent. Since 2025 the law no longer requires an affidavit for children starting at the beginning of a school year or a statement about criminal background.

When do I file in Utah?

When the parent withdraws an enrolled child to homeschool, or chooses not to enroll a school-age child. Only once per child; not yearly.

What assessments are required in Utah?

None required. Parents are responsible for evaluating instruction, and school boards may not require standardized or other testing.

Check the original

Sources and last checked

  1. Utah Code § 53G-6-204 ↗Utah State Legislature
  2. Utah Code § 53G-6-201 ↗Utah State Legislature
  3. Utah Code § 53G-6-703 ↗Utah State Legislature
  4. H.B. 209 Homeschool Amendments (2025) ↗Utah State Legislature
  5. Home School ↗Utah State Board of Education

Last verified .